Home > Books > View


Memory Artists, The by Jeffrey Moore

Finalist for The Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction in 2004

0143017497h

In the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer and Jonathan Lethem, Jeffrey Moore effortlessly juggles different voices and narrative styles to get at the very heart of what it means to remember and to forget.

Noel Burun is a hypermnesiac synaesthete: his memory is unrelentingly exact, and he sees spoken words as vibrant explosions of colour, a sensation that often leaves him befuddled and bewildered. Adding to his frustration is his mother’s slow descent into the quicksand of Alzheimer’s. A man who remembers too much and a woman who remembers too little—both struggle to make sense of their worlds in a house bloated with memories.

Click here to search for this book at the Atwater Library.

English

Fiction

2004

0143017497

Penguin Books

Toronto

2004

352

hardcover