Home > Books > View


Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Finalist for Concordia University First Book Prize in 2016

9781101886694

Sleeping Giants
BOOK ONE OF THE THEMIS FILES

“This stellar debut novel […] masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction.[…] A page-turner of the highest order.” -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Sleeping Giants
An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in the cutting-edge cadences of interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth, and by a struggle for control of earthshaking power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square-shaped hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved – the object’s origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the relic they seek. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery, and finally figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Sleeping Giants was released in April 2016 by Del Rey (Random House) in North America.

The movie rights for Sleeping Giants have been optioned by Sony. David Koepp (Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Mission Impossible) is writing the script. Josh Bratman and Matt Tolmach are producing.

Click here to search for this book at the Atwater Library.

English

Fiction

2016

978-1-10-188669-4

Penguin Random House/Del Rey

New York

2016

320

1

hardcover