Home > Books > View

The Cello Suites by Eric Siblin

Winner of McAuslan First Book Prize in 2009

Winner of The Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction in 2009


Part biography, part music history, and part literary mystery, The Cello Suites weaves together three dramatic narratives: The first features Johann Sebastian Bach and the missing manuscript of his suites from the eighteenth century; the second follows Pablo Casals and the historic discovery of the music in Spain in the late nineteenth century; and the third is Eric Siblin’s own infatuation with the suites in the twenty-first century. This love affair leads Siblin to the back streets of Barcelona and a Belgian mansion; to interviews with cellists Mischa Maisky, Anner Bylsma, and Pieter Wispelwey; to archives, festivals, and conferences; and even to cello lessons — all in pursuit of answers to the mysteries that continue to haunt this piece of music more than 250 years after its composer’s death.

Click here to search for this book at the Atwater Library.

J. S. Bach, Pablo Casals, and the Search for a Baroque Masterpiece




House of Anansi Press