Home > Books > View


Les Artistes de la Memoire by Jeffrey Moore , Translated by Helene Rioux

Finalist for QWF Translation Prize in 2008

Memoire

In the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer and Jonathan Lethem, Jeffrey Moore effortlessly juggles different voices and narrative styles to get at the very heart of what it means to remember and to forget.

Noel Burun is a hypermnesiac synaesthete: his memory is unrelentingly exact, and he sees spoken words as vibrant explosions of colour, a sensation that often leaves him befuddled and bewildered. Adding to his frustration is his mother’s slow descent into the quicksand of Alzheimer’s. A man who remembers too much and a woman who remembers too little—both struggle to make sense of their worlds in a house bloated with memories.

Click here to search for this book at the Atwater Library.

French

Fiction

2007

978-2-89261-472-5

XYZ Éditeur

Montreal

2007

342

softcover