Home > Authors > View

Mavis Gallant


Born in Montreal in 1922, Mavis Gallant left a career as a leading journalist in that city to move to Paris in 1950 to write. Since that time she has been publishing stories on a regular basis in The New Yorker, many of which have been anthologized. Her world-wide reputation has been established by books such as From the Fifteenth District and Home Truths, which won the Governor General’s Award in 1982. In that same year she was made an Officer of the Order of Canada, becoming a Companion of the Order in 1993.

Gallant is a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. She has received honorary degrees from several Canadian universities. In 2001 she became the first winner of the Matt Cohen Award. In 2006 she became the first English-language writer to win the prestigious Prix Athanase-David, one of the Prix du Québec. She lives in Paris.

Books by Mavis Gallant

Hometruths Home Truths

51qf3xqgvcl._aa240_ Green Water, Green Sky

Fifteenth-small From the Fifteenth District

Productimage.aspx A Fairly Good Time

The Other Paris

Pegnitz The Pegnitz Junction

Overhead Overhead in a Balloon

Intransit In Transit

Moslem The Moslem Wife and Other Stories

Bridge Across the Bridge

Selected The Selected Stories of Mavis Gallant



August 11, 1922