Home > Authors > View

H. Nigel Thomas


H. Nigel Thomas is the author of nine books: four novels, “Spirits in the Dark” (shortlisted for the QSPELL Hugh MacClennan Fiction Award), “Behind the Face of Winter,” “Return to Arcadia,” and “No Safeguards,” which was a finalist for the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction in 2015. He has also written two collections of short stories, “How Loud Can the Village Cock Crow” and “Lives: Whole and Otherwise;” a collection of poems, “Moving Through Darkness;” and two works of non-fiction, “From Folklore to Fiction: A Study of Folk Heroes and Rituals in the Black American Novel” and “Why We Write: Conversations with African Canadian Poets and Novelists.” He is a former Montreal high-school teacher and retired professor of US literature at Universite Laval and now lives in Montreal.

Books by H. Nigel Thomas

51y2rjnjitl._sx331_bo1_204_203_200_ Fate's Instruments

No_safeguards No Safeguards

Lives Lives: Whole and Otherwise

Arcadia Return to Arcadia

Behind Behind The Face Of Winter

Howloud How Loud Can The Village Cock Crow?

Movingthroughdarkness Moving Through Darkness

Spiritsinthedark Spirits in the Dark


Carribean Canadian


Saint Vincent